Florida is full of hardworking nurses dedicated to providing adequate care to others. These professionals also work in an industry known for high-stress moments and situations. Due to such a demanding job, if you are a nurse, you may occasionally unwind with a drink. Unfortunately, this can lead to a cop suspecting, and potentially arresting, you for committing a DUI.
Fines, jail time and community service
Whether you receive your first DUI or are a repeat offender, getting a DUI means paying fines and spending time in jail. In Florida, DUI fines vary from around $500 to upwards of $2,000 if you’re a first-time offender. Repeat offenders or those with minors present during the DUI stop often pay higher fines, which can approach $4,000.
Reporting to Florida’s nursing board
After being convicted of drunk driving, you must report your DUI to the Florida Board of Nursing within 30 days after entering a plea or being found guilty. Having to make this report also applies to no-contest DUI charges. After doing that, the board will investigate the details of your DUI-related incident. This investigation can include looking for police reports or other details.
It’s understandable for a nurse to worry about the future of their job post-DUI conviction. Unfortunately, it’s impossible to know the exact outcome ahead of your nursing or health board’s decision. Possible outcomes can include a job suspension or a complete revocation of your nursing license. However, that’s not always the outcome. Depending on the details of your situation, you might be able to return to your job immediately.
The aftermath of a DUI can be a stressful time. That’s why many people in this situation often try to get their DUI conviction downgraded to a reckless driving charge.