Everyone in Florida knows that the state can crack down hard on drivers arrested for alleged impaired driving. This is true despite the fact that having a casual beverage or two in social situations and then driving home is a common activity for many people and is socially accepted. Nonetheless, it is important for drivers to know what penalties they may face if ever convicted of driving while under the influence in Florida.
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, a first-time DUI may result in a person spending time in jail, paying fines, losing the right to drive, performing community service and even having a vehicle impounded.
While the threshold for determining intoxication in a driver is a blood or breath alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher, it is important to know that some penalties may be more severe if a driver's BAC is over 0.14 percent. Specifically, the amount of fine a person may be required to pay and the amount of time ordered in jail may both be increased with a higher BAC. Drivers who have a minor in their vehicles when stopped for a DUI may also have to serve longer jail sentences than drivers who do not have minors in their vehicles when arrested for drunk driving.
This information is not intended to provide legal advice but is instead meant to give Florida residents an overview of the type of penalties they may experience if convicted of a first-ever impaired driving offense in the state.