If you are injured in a car accident in Florida, PIP coverage is your first source of compensation for personal injury. If you suffer what is classified as a "permanent injury" you may have additional legal options.
While all Florida drivers are required to carry Personal Injury Protection, or PIP, few know exactly what coverage they have or how to use it. That can lead to missing out on compensation that you need and deserve.
What is PIP?
PIP is a part of Florida's no-fault insurance system. As a Florida driver, you are required to carry at least $10,000 in PIP coverage. To protect yourself and your family, you should consider buying more.
If you are injured in an accident involving a car or truck, PIP pays:
Up to 80 percent of medical bills
Up to 60 percent of lost wages
Mileage reimbursement for medical care
$5,000 for death
PIP pays whether you were in a vehicle at the time or not. For example, if a car strikes you while you are walking or riding a bike, you are covered by PIP. PIP does not apply to accidents involving motorcycles, however.
To recover compensation, you must file a claim within 14 days of the accident. If your injury does not qualify as an emergency medical condition, your medical benefits are limited to $2,500.
What if someone else was at fault for the accident?
If someone was fully or partially responsible for the accident, and you suffered what is classified as a permanent injury, you may be able to recover additional compensation by fling a personal injury lawsuit. Examples of permanent injuries include broken bones, scarring, a serious head injury, and paralysis.
The civil justice system provides unlimited compensation for injuries suffered in an auto accident, including compensation for pain and suffering. You can recover compensation for any losses not paid by PIP.
The Caldarone Law Group, P.A., in Naples offers a free initial consultation to answer your questions about PIP and other auto accident issues.